Leading up to the 37th Annual Statesman Capitol 10,000, Race Director John Conley was high on the elite men’s field that would toe the start line this morning. His prediction didn’t disappoint as it marked the first time in race history that the top 10 finishers were all under 32 minutes. Scott MacPherson – the 27-year-old who holds the 2011 and 2012 Cap 10K titles – outclassed the field from the first mile on a near perfect day in downtown Austin. Fighting a stiff north wind running up Congress Avenue, MacPherson put a solid 10 meters on the trailing pack and never looked back. His winning time of 29:36 marked a personal best on the course although fell half a minute shy of the event record, set last year by Eric Chirchir.

“I’m getting ready for the Boston Marathon and ran 20 miles yesterday, so I was pleased to come out here and do this today,” said MacPherson. “I didn’t know where those guys were and at mile four heard cheering, thinking that someone was coming for me.” If he would have looked back at that point, all he would have seen was open road. By the time MacPherson got under the Lamar bridge along Cesar Chavez he had nearly 200 meters on Devin Monson (2nd, 30:14) and David Fuentes (3rd, 30:26). The finish by Fuentes marked his fifth Top-5 placing in the state’s largest 10K, but if female winner Chris Kimbrough was to give him advice she would say to keep lining up because you never know what will happen.

At age 44, two time Olympic Marathon Trials qualifier Kimbrough seems to have found her fountain of youth. The ever-energetic mom of five children entered the race with two Masters victories and five Top-5 finishes, but never an overall win. Despite suffering from being sick earlier this week and not having an elite bib number meaning she had to fight through hundreds of runners at the start line, Kimbrough took the lead from mile two and cruised to a 23 second victory. Unofficially, she ties local runner Carmen Ayala-Troncosco (2004) as the oldest champion in race history.

“I was trying to get up to the front before the start but the corral volunteers kept telling me I had to get back,” Kimbrough explained. Here bib number – 1626 – was not the color of the elite bibs which meant she had to fight through hundreds – if not thousands – to jockey for position. “But I felt good and I’m just so happy.”

Taking second was 26-year-old Amy Shackelford (36:20) of San Antonio, improving one position from her third place finish from 2013. Nora Colligan (36:33) rounded out the top three with a 90 second personal best.

An announced field of 18,000 enjoyed unseasonably cool temperatures in the low 50’s with a wind chill at times dipping in to the 40’s. Heavy rains surrounded the area and an early morning downpour at 6:30 AM left puddles on the streets before clearing out to provide near perfect conditions.

Out of the men’s elite field, Erik Stanley (30:56) took 4th, South African Lee Troop (31:14) – the 1994 Cap 10K champion – 5th and Rio Reina (31:23) was 6th. Defending champ Eric Chirchir fought through cramps and a tough winter in the northeast that took a toll on his training to capture 10th in 31:59.

The aforementioned Troop who is readying for the Boston Marathon on April 21st captured the Master’s victory, followed by Patrick Darragh (35:25) and Peter Gallimore (36:53). On the women’s side, 41-year-old Rochelle Cuff of San Antonio took the title for the second straight year in 39:04. Cuff was also the first female over 40 to finish the Austin Half Marathon back in February. Second place went to Brentley Weber (40:52) and 3rd to Ivi Kerrigan (42:53).

The spring running season in Central Texas continues next weekend with the Austin 10/20 where race director is offering prize money to the top five finishers from Travis County, hoping to attract an elite field for his third annual 10-mile event.

Full Results

[Best_Wordpress_Gallery gallery_type=”image_browser” theme_id=”1″ gallery_id=”4″ sort_by=”order” image_browser_width=”400″ image_browser_title_enable=”1″ image_browser_description_enable=”1″ popup_width=”800″ popup_height=”500″ popup_effect=”none” popup_interval=”5″ popup_enable_filmstrip=”1″ popup_filmstrip_height=”70″ popup_enable_ctrl_btn=”1″ popup_enable_fullscreen=”1″ popup_enable_comment=”1″ popup_enable_facebook=”1″ popup_enable_twitter=”1″ popup_enable_google=”1″ watermark_type=”none” watermark_link=”0″]

Men Top 10

Chip Time First  Last  City Division Age
0:29:36 Scott MacPherson Austin 10K TIMED Overall 27
0:30:14 Devin Monson Austin 10K TIMED Overall 23
0:30:26 David Fuentes Austin 10K TIMED Overall 27
0:30:56 Erik Stanley Austin 10K TIMED M 25-29 29
0:31:14 Lee Troop Boulder 10K TIMED Masters 41
0:31:23 Rio Reina Austin 10K TIMED M 25-29 26
0:31:40 Kiya Dandena Houston 10K TIMED M 20-24 24
0:31:49 Jared Carson Austin 10K TIMED M 25-29 27
0:31:57 Michael Lori Austin 10K TIMED M 20-24 23
0:31:59 Eric Chirchir Austin 10K TIMED M 30-34 31


Women Top 10

Chip Time First Last City Division Age
0:35:56 Chris Kimbrough Austin 10K TIMED Overall 44
0:36:19 Amy Shackelford Port Neches 10K TIMED Overall 26
0:36:23 Nora Colligan Austin 10K TIMED Overall 31
0:37:45 Lauren Smith Lake Jackson 10K TIMED F 20-24 23
0:37:48 Megan Betts Austin 10K TIMED F 25-29 27
0:37:57 Amy Baker Austin 10K TIMED F 30-34 30
0:38:16 Cate Westenhover Austin 10K TIMED F 20-24 24
0:38:36 Jena Kincaid Austin 10K TIMED F 25-29 26
0:38:50 Jennifer Harney Austin 10K TIMED F 35-39 35
0:39:04 Rochelle Cuff San Antonio 10K TIMED Masters 41