/, News, Race Coverage/Bussing, Mendez Race to Victories at Cap 10K

Bussing, Mendez Race to Victories at Cap 10K

An overcast and balmy spring morning in Austin, Texas – not exactly ‘perfect’ running conditions – did little to prevent more than 20,000 participants from toeing the line at this year’s Capitol 10,000. The race eclipse the 20K mark on Friday afternoon, a significant jump from previous years and a return to the days when the event was ranked among the biggest 10k’s in the country.

Credit: William Dyson

Credit: William Dyson

Twenty-five year old Austin Bussing left little doubt who the class of the field was, holding a commanding 20 second lead by the halfway mark. He used the mostly downhill section of Winsted to distance himself from a trailing Ryan Miller, and by the time Bussing reached the homestretch the gap had swelled to more than a minute. The victory – his first at the Cap 10K – was one of the more dominate performances in recent years.

Taking second was Ryan Miller of Houston in 31:54 and Austin Roth finished third in 32:15.

On the women’s side, local residents Cate Barrett and Allison Mendez ran neck and neck just about every step of the 6.2 mile downtown course. But it was Mendez with the stronger kick, outlasting Barrett and claiming her second straight Capitol 10,000 title. Her time of 36:03 was a full minute slower than 2015, showing just how difficult the conditions were for a peak performance.

With the victory the 27-year-old joins six other females as multi-time champions. Four of those – and Mendez now makes five – have won back-to-back.

For Barrett (36:04), the second place finish was a more than 90 second improvement from 2015. Austinite Jessica Harper rounded out the top three in 36:55.

Area residents claimed four of the top five Masters finishes on the men’s side. Hernan Rozemberg of San Antonio took first with a solid 35:42. Brian Toronyi was in 35:58, David Melancon third in 36:54,  Andy Albright fourth in 37:11 and Emmanuel Toutain

The female Masters results will most likely later be amended as they currently show 74-year-old Ann Kriss taking second in 39:38. Arianna Bradley Roth of Spring took the female crown in 39:37. Joy Moats (39:43), Mary Alico (40:41), and Rachel Hanson (42:06) completed the top five.

Full results are available from RunFar at http://www.mychiptime.com/searchevent.php?id=9771.